Prog Metal




Quantum is a progressive rock band formed by Bass player and singer Anton Ericsson, drummer Olof Simander and Guitarist Fredrik Reinholdsen back in 2016 and has since been playing in various line-ups live around Stockholm and Uppsala – with Anton being the constant member and songwriter. Current members are Anton Ericsson, drummer Marcus Lundberg, and guitarists Samuel Walfridsson and Kalle Segerborg.

Influenced by music ranging from progressive rock akin to Genesis and King Crimson, to extreme metal bands like The Dillinger Escape Plan, to jazz fusion in the vein of Mahavishnu orchestra – Quantum play music that can shimmer one second only to explode in the next. The dynamic range spanning from jazz ballad to bursts of metal, combined with expanded forms from classical music, intricate harmonies, and mathy rhythms – all while still keeping a focus on groove and melody – creates a sound that is quite something else. 

Quantum´s upcoming album, “Down the Mountainside”, contains eight very elaborate and intense compositions, spanning 45 minutes of music that shimmers in acoustic soundscapes one minute to explode into spastic grooves in the next. The lyrical themes deal with humans alter egos – or masks – that people in our society rely on in order to get by with their everyday lives, and how these affect them psychologically and eventually lead them towards a breaking point. There is also commentary on how this behavior affects the general attitude in the society we live in. Overall, with “Down the Mountainside”, Quantum has created a timeless progressive rock album, which feels both fresh and innovative, which will appeal to old prog diggers as well as listeners of the more modern school.

The album features guitar solos from the brilliant Richard Henshall and Tom MacLean from the band Haken.

2020 saw the release of the EP The Next Breath of Air…, featuring some of their favorite tracks to play live, which did give them a small but loyal following across the globe.


Anton Ericsson – Bass & Vocals
Marcus Lundberg – Drums & Vocals
Samuel Walfridsson – Guitars
Kalle Segerborg – Guitars



The Next Breath of Air… (2020)


Credits: James Johansson